In This Issue
Current Graphic
Dynamic Chiropractic Canada – September 1, 2010, Vol. 03, Issue 05
Post Comments

News in Brief

By Editorial Staff

WFC Announces New Executive Committee

At its annual council meeting in Budapest, the World Federation of Chiropractic (WFC) elected a new executive featuring Dr. J. Michael Flynn as president.

The complete WFC executive committee, elected for two-year terms, includes the following:

  • President: Dr. Flynn of Houma, La., representing the American Chiropractic Association and the North American Region.
  • First Vice President: Dennis Richards, DC, of Tweeds Head, New South Wales, representing the Chiropractic Association of Australia and the Pacific Region.
  • Second Vice President: Greg Stewart, DC, of Winnipeg, representing the Canadian Chiropractic Association and the North American Region.
  • Secretary-Treasurer: Espen Johannessen, DC, of Lillestrom, Norway, representing the Norwegian Chiropractors' Association and the European Region.

"It is truly an honor and privileged to have been elected president," said Dr. Flynn, a former president of the Chiropractic Association of Louisiana and Louisiana State Board of Examiners, "especially given the outstanding presidents who have served before me, most recently my friend and colleague Dr. Stathis Papadopoulos, whose contribution has been immense." With Flynn's election as president, Papadopoulos concludes his service as president and is now serving as past president.

Dr. Flynn has been a member of the WFC executive committee since 2004, serving first as secretary-treasurer and then as first vice president prior to being elected president. He is a current board member of the Foundation for Chiropractic Progress and member of the Parker College of Chiropractic board of trustees.

Royal Treatment for the College of Chiropractic Sports Sciences

The College of Chiropractic Sports Sciences (Canada), the national governing body for sports chiropractors, now goes by the name Royal College of Chiropractic Sports Sciences after Queen Elizabeth gave the organization official permission to use the term royal in its name. Canadian Governor General Michaelle Jean recommended that the royal title be granted.

"This is a very special honour to earn the personal approval of the Queen," said Dr. Gregory Uchacz, president of the RCCSS. "This royal honour is rarely conferred, making it all the more significant to our members."

Since her reign began in 1952, Her Majesty has granted only 43 royal prefixes, with the latest confirmed by Buckingham Palace just days before the Queen and Duke of Edinburgh visited Canada in late June.

To learn more about the RCCSS, please visit

Post Comments
Sign Up for Our Webinars
Receive Advanced Notice of Future Webinars